Originally called Lee Town, Stanford Township was organized in 1869. Like Athens, it is an odd-shaped township, having as its border on the east, the Rum River. Thus, those sections in Range 24W are referred to as East Stanford, and there is a separate index of landholders for those sections.
Stanford’s first settlers were mostly of German descent who settled in the vicinity of Crown, establishing a German Lutheran Church and parochial school. Some of the early settlers were the Stoeckels, Hasses, Kriesels, Lemkes, and Wittlefs.
Stanford Township boasts the largest number of Century Farms in the county.
Some of the other names associated with early settlement in Stanford Township are the Engrens, Claysons, Danefelzers, Lindmans, Jobes and Schwabs.
In 1898 no bridge yet crossed the Rum River so residents of Stanford Township were forced to travel north through Bradford and cross the river west of Old Isanti in order to conduct business at Cambridge. St. Francis and Anoka were more convenient trade areas for the Stanfordites.
- No. 8-Garfield, 14
- No. 15-Crown, 8
- No. 25-Long Lake, 6E
- No. 31-9E (A school district that was later dissolved. A school in Springvale Township then took the number of 31.)
- No. 49-Oakdale, 18
Churches and Cemeteries:
- Cemetery, 10E (East Stanford)
- German Lutheran Church and Cemetery, 9 and 4 (Zion)
- Crown Post Office, 9
- Stanford Post Office, 4E
- Blacksmith Shops, 12, 14
- Feed Mill, 10E
- Grist Mill, 10E
- Store, 9
The historical comments regarding each township is taken from Minerva Hixson’s Yesterdays as well as from other documents and records at the Isanti County Historical Society.